top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMaggie Paredes

Welcome to Mysteries of the Missing

Hi there. Welcome to Mysteries of the Missing. My name is Maggie and I am excited to start this informative journey with you. This podcast and blog exist to shed light on the cases of missing people and hopefully bring them home. I'm not trained in any way in true crime. Instead, I'm solely a human being that's trying to do my part to get the message of missing people out there so that one day, hopefully, they may be found, and their cases may be solved.

Can you remember when you were first interested in true crime? I can.

My interest in true crime must have begun out of a childhood event that stands out in my mind: My cousin is a convicted murder from the 1970's and is still in prison today. As a kid, I visited him several times in a state prison. There were men who said they were innocent and there were those that actually were, but I didn't recall paying attention that as a child -- I was just there to visit family. Incarceration, mental illness, and crimes are all apart of my history. However, my story is for another time and place, as this podcast and blog is about missing people, but I just wanted to give you, my dear readers and listeners, a clue as to why I'm so interested in true crime.

In addition to having a family background affiliated with true crime, I have always been fascinated with the human condition. In college, Sociology was one of my favorite classes because we studied different cultures. The big question was, "Why do people from 'X, Y, and Z' behave and do 'this and that?'" The same can be said of the criminal brain: Why do people commit crimes? What motivates them to hurt, kidnap, or kill others? This is like a puzzle piece to me, and it's one I want to solve.

When it comes to this podcast and blog in particular, I chose the specific subject of missing person's cases because they are unsolved. I'd like to be a part of putting the story together. By talking about these missing people, I can see that they are more than just what happened to them: They had lives, they have families and friends who love them, they had jobs. It's like opening up a jigsaw puzzle and finding the parts that fit together so that we can see the whole picture. By focusing on the victims of the crime rather than the crime and the criminal itself, I want to bring attention to where I feel it should be most: the person who was wronged. In addition, the more people who know about the people who are missing, the better the odds may be in order to find them. Just maybe. Hopefully.

Come on this journey into the lives of the cases of missing people. Our first case is Jennifer Kesse, which can be found on the next episode on this playlist. Also, check out Mysteries of the Missing on Facebook, Wix, and Instagram. Until next time, stay safe.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

תגובות


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page